SPST Organization

Board of Directors

The SPST Board of Directors, the Society’s chief governing body, is chartered to “administer all the affairs of the Society”. The Board is made up of 5 members.




  Currently, Takeo Watanabe is the Executive Advisor to the President of the University of Hyogo (in charge of promoting advanced science and technology and interdisciplinary research), Vice Dean of the Laboratory of Advanced Science and Technology for Industry, Director of the Center for EUVL, and a Full Professor. Since 1993, he has been engaged in research and development of basic technology for extreme ultraviolet lithography (EUVL). Up to now, he participated in and led four national projects for 20 years, and the results of joint research with many domestic and overseas companies led to the application of EUVL as a mass production technology for 7-nm-node-logic devices in 2019. He published more than 240 papers in this field.

Since 1990, he has been engaged in the development of basic technology for semiconductor microfabrication for advanced DRAM at the Central Research and Development Laboratory of Sharp Corporation. In 1996, he was appointed as an Assistant Professor at Himeji Institute of Technology (currently the University of Hyogo), and since then has been researching and developing advanced nanofabrication technology for advanced semiconductors, including photoresists, exposure equipments, and EUV masks etc.

At the photopolymer international conference, he served as a member of the organizing committee, a member of the program committee, EUVL symposium chair, the Board of Directors and Director of the International Affairs. From September 2022, he took over the position of the new president of the Society of Photopolymers (SPST). He hopes that SPST will serve as a place for exchanges in the field of photopolymers, as well as inheriting the thoughts of the former chairman on photopolymers.



Teruaki Hayakawa is the Professor of Tokyo Institute of Technology. 



HIrOyuki MAYAMA, Director of Publication

  Hiroyuki Mayama graduated from Graduate School of Engineering, Hokkaido University in 1999 and was given Dr. of Engineering. He was a CREST researcher of Kyoto University in 1999-2003, and then research associate at Research Institute of Electronic Science, Hokkaido University between 2003-2012. Now he is associate professor at Asahikawa Medical University. He is acting as a new editor in Chief of J. Photopolym. Sci. Technol. since beginning of 2020.

    His interest includes soft matter physics (polymer physics, wetting phenomenon), fractal science, nonlinear science, and biomimetics.


Itaru OSAKA, Director of Awards

Itaru Osaka is the Professor, Hiroshima University.


Hiroto KUDO, Director of Administration

     Hiroto Kudo is the Professor of Department of Chemistry and Materials Engineering, Kansai University.


    He received a Doctorate in polymer chemistry from Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan in 2000. He did postdoctoral research at the Venture Business Laboratory at Yamagata University, Japan during 2000–2001. In his career at Kanagawa University, he has progressed from Research Associate (2001) to Assistant Professor (2007), and Associate Professor (2009).  In 2013, he moved to Kansai University as an Associate Professor and was promoted to Professor in 2015.  His current research interests include synthesis of new functional polymers applicable to EUV resists, UV-curing materials, high and low-refractive indices materials. Since 2021, he has been a member of the ICPST director.  


Masataka ENDO, Special Assistant of the president

   Osaka University



   Takashi Karatsu is the professor of Department of Applied Chemistry and Biotechnology, Chiba University.


TAKUMI Ueno, Accounting audit

Shinshu University.